Does Writing Count If It Isn’t Challenging?


A journal should not be the main channel for your writing. The truism that tells us writers to write everyday doesn’t specify what kind of writing we should be exercising. Does blogging count? Journaling? Or is fiction the only kind of writing that will really put our skills to the test?

I would never speak ill of journal writing. Of course it has its value. I definitely do not think it’s a waste of time. Journal writing is an important and useful medium of expression (particularly for the introverted types).  But is it an effective way to practice your writing?

When I read my diary’s past entries, I think what nonsense, what gibberish. But if I were to stop and try to edit my own journal, it wouldn’t be a journal at all.

Maybe journal writing doesn’t have all the benefits of fiction writing when it comes to feeding the creative self. So what? Journal writing is just easier and when you’re feeling like you don’t have the time for anything else, it’s the best alternative. But if I want to keep those creative muscles strong then journaling is not going to fly.

Lesson learned: Write everyday. Write everything and anything — as much as you can.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. s0beurself
    May 25, 2010 @ 01:10:05

    Sometimes I do a full workout, other times I settle for a push-up. But I’m always consistent…great mentality!

    Reply

  2. Jane Kennedy Sutton
    May 25, 2010 @ 21:37:33

    I think any sort of writing helps our skill level. I absolutely agree with your lesson learned summation.

    Reply

  3. Maribeth
    May 26, 2010 @ 12:32:27

    I enjoy journal writing but view it as an outlet rather than a possibility.
    I like to reflect and see where I am and where I’ve been. It’s where my ideas get scribbled down or plots get outlined. I like the fact that I don’t have to edit it. Any form of writing is writing. Journal writing is not what will get me published but the fact I am jotting something down is exercise for the mind and preparation for my career. :)

    I name my journals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

