I’ll Come Running Back To You

Listening to: I’ll Come Running Back to You by Sam Cooke

Writers know the importance of giving their literature a rest. The author and his/her writing are in a relationship that needs to breathe like any other. I’ve broken up with numerous stories, but I never actually throw them in the trash. On the off chance that one day I’ll rethink my decision, I’ll keep that first paragraph or idea map somewhere safe where I can remember it if need be.

Never throw out your writing.

Leaving your writing alone, on purpose:

It was December of last year, not more than 5 months ago, when I took the initiative to write my first not-assigned short story. It went well and it went quickly. My second story, however, encountered  difficulties. It wasn’t structured, the character wasn’t likable (spelling: likeable?),  and it lacked voice (among other things). So I left the script alone for a good couple weeks and the time allowed me to forget the 800-some words I had written. I returned to my writing and started revising. I repeated that process a few times and before I knew it, I had myself story no.2!

Leaving your writing alone, by accident:

So, you want abandon your story? Fine. Do so. Put it aside and forget about it… for months, years, forever? Maybe it will be a long time. But as your writing skills improve and your person grows, your abilities will change. Re-approaching your story after this transition can do your writing a lot of good. Sometimes I honestly think I’ll never return to a story and then a couple months later, I’m rummaging through old files and suddenly I’ll see those two paragraphs in a new, and more positive, light. I know I definitely have more unfinished projects than I do finished ones and I wouldn’t want that bulk of writing to be wasted when it could turn out to be my masterpiece later on.

However! If you’re tight on space and/or are a minimalist, then consider yourself the exception to my rule.

Leave a Reply

